Moreton Bay Spearfishing

24 10 2010

Hi everyone!
Yesterday, I had the chance to spearfish in the fishiest waters I have ever seen… Leaving at 4:30 in the morning, we headed out of Moreton Bay on a local spearo’s boat to a FAD buoy that held more quality fish than I could every imagine: hundreds of kingfish, hundreds of dollies (dorado), and the occasional wahoo. The 73 degree water was bluer than ever and the visibility must have been 25 meters plus. Although the majority of the fish were 5-10 pounders, some larger fish came in. Within an hour of diving, I caught two dollies and one wahoo! Earlier that morning I was talking about how cool it would be to see a wahoo in the water, let alone shoot one! Here’s the proof:

My first 'hoo!

Our dive buddy Brad with a big bull. As he was fighting this fish, I handed him my speargun from the boat for a second shot. Within seconds, he shot a wahoo instead! (his first one as well) After bringing in the hoo, I chased down his float in the boat and retrieved the dodo

My housemate Shane with a trophy mahi mahi on his first open water dive


because everything is upside down in this hemisphere...

Brad getting pulled around by a nice Dolly as he was getting hassled by a hammerhead

On the ride back, we saw a Hammerhead (about 8 foot) and a couple Humpbacks. It was kind of startling to hear that the day after this dive, a 6 meter White was spotted right next to one of our dive spots… That’s bigger than the boat we were in. I’m glad I didn’t see him.

The catch

All in a morning's work

The total catch included 6 dorado (boat limit) and 2 wahoo. If we had more space, a need for more fish, and no bag limits, we could have taken heaps.

Spangled Emperor (7.5 kilos) that I caught the evening before the open water dive.  I was planning on a normal school day that friday until I was called to dive that afternoon.  In one descent, I went to the bottom, saw a 8 foot shark to the left (a nurse i think) and this huge Emperor to the right! We then headed back to Brissy, guided by the moonlight at 45 mph.  When we returned, my classmates came over to my house for a fish dinner.  Then we got called to dive the next day, leaving at 4:30 AM!

This is a Spangled Emperor (7.5 kilos) that I caught the evening prior. I was planning on a normal school day until I was called to dive that afternoon. In one descent, I went to the bottom, saw an 8 foot shark to the left (a bronze whaler or bull i think) and this huge Emperor to the right! We then headed back to Brissy, guided by the moonlight at 45 mph. When we returned, my classmates came over to my house for a fish dinner. Then we got invited to dive again the next day when I planned to write an essay… It was a worthy excuse for procrastination; I should probably start writing now!

These are probably my last spearfishing expeditions in Australia on this trip. If so, it definitely ended with a bang!

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 10 2010
vikram

the only thing more gorgeous than these fish is your smile sean

26 10 2010
Tim

Holy Shit!

Leave a Reply

